Alexander R. Wynaendts, CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board and Management Board of Aegon N.V., will receive the sixth annual Holland on the Hill Heineken Award at the Library of Congress on May 22. The Heineken Award is presented to business leaders who strengthen the economic relationship between the Netherlands and the United States.

Mr. Wynaendts has led the transformation of the Aegon Group into an international technology-driven business that is a world-leading provider of life insurance, pensions, and asset management. Aegon was founded in 1983 but the company’s roots go back 175 years in the Netherlands. With headquarters in the Hague, Aegon has over 26,000 employees worldwide who serve almost 29 million people in over 20 countries.

In the United States, Transamerica is the Aegon Group’s largest business. Transamerica is among the top 10 largest providers of pensions, variable annuities, individual universal life, and individual term life in the US, and accounts for almost two-thirds of Aegon’s earnings.

The economic ties between the Netherlands and the United States are strong and support 825,000 American jobs. The Heineken Award honors entrepreneurs and companies that have made a positive and substantial contribution to the Dutch-US economic relationship.

“Alexander R. Wynaendts and Aegon are the perfect illustration of the durable economic relationship that exists between the Netherlands and the United States. Transamerica is the fusion of the Dutch entrepreneurial spirt and American know-how that delivers mechanisms to provide financial stability to millions of Americans,” said Henne Schuwer, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the United States.

The Heineken Award recognizes the contributions that Mr. Wynaendts and Aegon continue to make to the Dutch-US bond, a bond that is undergirded by the shared values of entrepreneurism, freedom, and justice.

“I’m honored to receive the Heineken Award. This award is named after a gentleman who like no other understood and greatly valued the importance of excellent mutual relationships between the United States and the Netherlands. The US market, where we serve 13 million customers, is very relevant to Aegon/Transamerica. We are proud to be able to help our customers to achieve a lifetime of financial security,” said Alexander R. Wynaendts, CEO of Aegon.

Heineken Award Ceremony

The Heineken Award Ceremony will take place May 22 at 12 p.m. in the Members Room of the Library of Congress, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, D.C. 20540.

The Heineken Award is named after Freddy Heineken, who was sent to the United States in the 1940s to establish the Heineken brand overseas. Once he returned to the Netherlands, Heineken used the innovative marketing skills he acquired in the US, to make Heineken into one of the world’s most recognizable brands. By combining American marketing techniques and his Dutch entrepreneurial spirit, Heineken increased sales by 260 percent.

The Holland on the Hill program was developed in 2014 to highlight the shared values between the Netherlands and the US. Jointly created by the United States Congressional Caucus of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and the Netherland-American Foundation, the Heineken Award has been presented to David Hyman of Netflix (2018), Dick Boer of Ahold Delhaize ( 2017), Victoria B. Mars of Mars Inc. (2016), Paul Polman of Unilever (2015), and Werner Vogels of (2014).

Mr. Wynaendts will give remarks at the award ceremony. Members of the US Congressional Caucus of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Representative (and Caucus Co-chair) Bill Huizenga (R-MI) and Representative Jim Costa (D-CA) will provide opening and closing remarks respectively. Josephine Bertrams, SVP and Chief Corporate Affairs Officer at Heineken, will also give remarks. Journalist Bruce DePuyt will moderate the ceremony.

Members of the media who would like to attend the Heineken Award Ceremony must RSVP to by 12 p.m. on May 21. Mr. Wynaendts will be available to speak with media at the conclusion of the event.

Follow updates on the ceremony on Twitter using #HollandHill.