Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Nicholas Kristof will receive the 2015 Anne Frank Award for his work to call attention to human trafficking and human rights violations around the world.

Kristof, a journalist with The New York Times since 1984, has written extensively on human rights issues, including the genocide in Darfur, and China’s democratic movement in Tiananmen Square. His coverage of human trafficking of girls and women in the United States, Cambodia, and Nepal confronts the public with this pervasive issue.

Cindy McCain, Co-Chair of the McCain Institute’s Human Trafficking Advisory Council, will be presented with the Anne Frank Special Recognition Award for her work to raise awareness and educate the public on human trafficking.  Mrs. McCain is a lifelong humanitarian, business owner, and wife of Senator John McCain. The McCain Institute works to raise awareness, further legislation and actively fight to end trafficking.

The Anne Frank Award ceremony will also feature a discussion and Q&A, “Individual Responsibility in Confronting Human Trafficking,” with Nicholas Kristof, Cindy McCain, and moderator Katrina Lantos Swett, a member of the US Commission on International Religious Freedom.

The ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. Thursday, Feb. 25 in the Members Room of the Library of Congress, 101 Independence Ave. SE, Washington, D.C. 20540.

Special guests at the Anne Frank Award ceremony will include Henne Schuwer, the Dutch Ambassador to the United States; Representatives Bill Huizenga (MI-02) and Derek Kilmer (WA-6), co-chairs of the Dutch Congressional Caucus; Representative Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (FL-23); Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN); Peter Rapaport of the Anne Frank Center; and survivor advocates of FAIR Girls, a D.C. based nonprofit serving victims of human trafficking locally and abroad.

At the award ceremony, 20×30 inch photographic collages from the Artworks for Freedom exhibition, “Bought and Sold: Voices of Human Trafficking” by Kay Chernush, will be on display. These images and accompanying survivor narratives depict the suffering of the hundreds of thousands or people affected by human trafficking. Additionally, cellist Ignacio Alcover, an Artworks for Freedom contributing artist, will perform at the award ceremony.

The Congressional Dutch Caucus, the Anne Frank Center USA, the Anne Frank House Amsterdam, and the Royal Netherlands Embassy created the Anne Frank Award in 2014 to honor the legacy of Anne Frank and keep alive the lessons her life teaches us about tolerance and the importance of defending human rights. The award recognizes an American or an organization working to confront intolerance, anti-Semitism, racism, or discrimination, while upholding the principles of freedom and equal rights.

The inaugural Anne Frank Award was presented to Rabbi David Nathan Saperstein, director of the Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism. The Rev. Canon Andrew White was the recipient of the Special Recognition Award.

Members of the media are asked to send an email to Carla Bundy to RSVP to attend the Anne Frank Award Ceremony. Due to safety concerns, we ask members of the media to refrain from taking pictures or recording survivor advocates of FAIR Girls who will be in attendance.

Follow the event on Twitter: #AnneFrank.