To honor the legacy of Anne Frank and keep alive the lessons she continues to teach us about tolerance and the importance of defending human rights, the Netherlands Embassy together with the Anne Frank Center USA and the Anne Frank House Amsterdam, in cooperation with the Dutch Caucus, the US Holocaust Memorial Museum and the Lantos Foundation for Human Rights and Justice, have created the Anne Frank Award.

The award is given to an American person (or organization) who has demonstrated a body of work that confronts intolerance, anti-Semitism, racism or discrimination while upholding freedom and equal rights in order to promote the effective functioning of an open, pluralistic and democratic society.

Nominations are to be submitted to the Netherlands Embassy for consideration by the advisory committee, whose voting members must reach a majority consensus for the nominee to be selected.

Recipients of the Anne Frank Award:

Benjamin Ferencz, the last surviving prosecutor at the Nuremburg trials
Special Recognition: Syria Justice and Accountability Centre
News story | Photos | Videos

Father Leo O’Donovan of the Jesuit Refugee Service/USA
Special Recognition: Robert Quinn of Scholars at Risk
News story | Photos | Video

2015: (award presented in 2016)
Nicholas Kristof, New York Times columnist
Special Recognition: Cindy McCain of the McCain Institute’s Human Trafficking Advisory Council
News story | Photos

Rabbi David Nathan Saperstein
Special Recognition: Canon Andrew White
News story | Photos

More Holland on the Hill: Introduction | Heineken Award | Corporate Partners | Dutch Caucus